Provisioning

General

ERAMON Provisioning has been developed for medium to large-scale enterprises in all industries to simplify and improve the process for the roll out of new configurations and configuration changes on comprehensive WAN/LAN infrastructures. 

Provisioning

New technologies for improving quality, security as well as performance, have to be integrated cost effectively and with the least operational disruption. Running networks requires dynamic adjustments of affected components, such as devices, routers, switches, firewalls and the like; or changes or expansions to the infrastructures, which usually require considerable manpower and effort beyond regular office hours. A network-wide introduction of new services such as VoIP, Quality of Service (QoS), etc., would be an example of this. It is crucial to roll out QoS profiles simultaneously and reliably to all affected components in order to ensure the continued quality of the voice connections.

Based on the experience of running their own international IP/MPLS network infrastructure, ERAMON GmbH developed, among other modules, ERAMON Provisioning. Since its launch the feedback from users and operators is continuously integrated into any further developments of this product and then made available to all ERAMON customers. This way all will benefit from one another’s ideas and suggestions.

Any network components contained on the network are recorded and their configuration saved on ERAMON through scans. This function is imbedded in ERAMON Inventory. Through open and documented APIs (Application Programming Interfaces) the users themselves can install applications; ERAMON’s data structures are therefore clearly shown. For this you can access ERAMON’s internal configuration database via API.

Master Data

Preparations

Initially, all data relevant for the provisioning process is written to ERAMON’s master database,such as any details of new devices, or already existing devices or individual ports. For example, all device types (hardware) are specified that are to be selected during a new provisioning. In the course of this process so-called config templates have to be saved, which can contain place holders (tokens). These tokens will then be replaced by real values during the actual provisioning job. A very helpful special feature here is that the different token types can be automated and even assigned with interdependent links (script, plain text, external data sources, etc.). Multiple provisioning processes can be combined very flexibly as a product or service. In addition, several hierarchical levels (CPE, PE or access layer) may be specified and taken into account. Preparation work is thus centrally organized and processes to run provisionings are carried out automatically. 

Port Provisioning

Recording profiles for ports

The end user can provision without knowing the syntax

At this point device ports can be assigned to the port profile templates that were previously specified in the master database. This can also be done for several ports on different devices, where the system will always display the appropriate selection masks for devices and ports in question. 

If tokens were set up for the templates, these now have to be filled with actual values by polling for each port.

Products

Bundling of jobs

Products bundle individual provisioning processes into one. A product can consist of several steps; these can be interdependent. A step is specified by:

  • Existing device
    Script, Port or Bulk
  • New device

Example:

  • Step 1 CPE Provisioning
    Initial configuration via serial or ethernet interface 
    • Firmware
    • Hardware
  • Step 2 Configuration or a backup port on the PE
    • Port provisioning

Two-Person Rule (TPR)

There are four different levels available when setting the TPR. If a level >1 has to be set, the user who has to authorize the job will receive a request by e-mail. The authorization will then be carried out through ERAMON’s GUI. The following levels are available:

  • Level 1
    TPR not applied
  • Level 2
    Authorization by a different user
  • Level 3
    Same as for level 2, but the execution date must be within certain time frame
  • Level 4
    Same as for level 3, but only for a certain device group

Config/Disaster Recovery

Recovery of the config

The device is provisioned with the most recently backed up config. For this purpose ERAMON logs onto the device via a specified login method and then provisions the selected config. The recovery can be scheduled, if an IP connection to the device is available.
If the device is no longer available via IP but only via a terminal/console server, recovery is possible through the disaster recovery.

Firmware Manager

Firmware rollout

Certain parameters have to be recorded for each firmware, such as RAM and Flash requirements. When trying to roll out firmware a pre-check has to be carried out that checks the firmware’s parameters. Only once this has been successful will the copying of the firmware be started with the help of a provisioning template.

Firmware

IP-SLA Manager

Rolling out IP-SLA measurements

IP-SLA measurements

The IP-SLA Manager facilitates a comfortable management of IP-SLA measurements. The measurements are set up in the provisioning module; an analyzis then takes place with the performance measurements.

Measurements are set up with their status as inactive. As soon as the relevant SAT was able to poll IP-SLA data, the status will be changed to active.

Parameters when setting up a measurement:

  • Category
  • Device A/B
  • Time Frame from/Time Frame until (depending on the category)
  • ToS
  • Thresholds for the set up measurement

Provisioning

Allgemein

Das Anwendungsmodul Provisioning wurde entwickelt, um mittelständischen oder großen Unternehmen aus allen Wirtschaftsbereichen ein System zum Ausrollen von Neukonfigurationen oder Konfigurationsänderungen in großen WAN-/LAN-Infrastrukturen zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Provisioning

Neue Techniken zur Verbesserung von Qualität, Sicherheit und Leistung müssen kostenoptimal möglichst ohne Betriebsunterbrechungen eingeführt werden. Der Betrieb von Netzen erfordert dynamische Anpassungen der betroffenen Komponenten (sog. Devices: Router, Switches, Firewalls) oder Veränderungen und Erweiterungen der Infrastrukturen, was im Allgemeinen mit hohem personellem Aufwand oft außerhalb der üblichen Arbeitszeiten verbunden ist. Die netzweite Einführung von Diensten wie IP-Telefonie oder Voice over IP (VoIP) sowie die Notwendigkeit der Einführung von Quality of Service (QoS) sind Beispiele hierfür. Dabei ist es entscheidend, die entsprechenden QoS-Profile gleichzeitig und zuverlässig auf alle betroffenen Komponenten auszurollen, damit die Qualität der Sprachverbindungen nicht darunter leidet.

Basierend auf Erfahrungen aus dem Betrieb eines eigenen weltweiten IP/MPLS-Netzes entwickelte der Hersteller u. a. ERAMON Provisioning. Das Feedback von Anwendern zu Funktionen und Anforderungen floss nach der Markteinführung in die Weiterentwicklung des Moduls ein und wurde allen Kunden der ERAMON GmbH nach der Implementierung zur Verfügung gestellt, sodass sie von ihren gegenseitigen Ideen und Wünschen profitieren können.

Über Scan-Läufe werden die im Netz befindlichen Netzkomponenten erfasst und deren Konfiguration im NMS gesichert. Diese Funktionalität ist im Anwendungsmodul Inventory enthalten. Über offene und dokumentierte APIs (Application Programming Interfaces) können durch den Anwender selbst Applikationen aufgesetzt werden - zu diesem Zweck werden die ERAMON  Datenstrukturen offengelegt. Dabei kann auf die interne Konfigurationsdatenbank via API zugegriffen werden.

Stammdaten

Vorbereitungen

Im Bereich Stammdaten werden zunächst relevante Daten für den Provisioning-Vorgang erfasst. Dies sind Informationen über Neugeräte, bereits vorhandene Geräte oder aber einzelne Ports. Es werden z. B. die Gerätetypen (Hardware) definiert, die bei einer Neuprovisionierung ausgewählt werden sollen. Dabei sind sog. „Config-Templates“ zu hinterlegen. In diesen Templates können Platzhalter definiert werden (Token). Diese werden dann beim eigentlichen Durchführen des Provisioning-Jobs mit Werten besetzt. Das Besondere hierbei ist, dass diese verschiedenen Token-Typen auf unterschiedlichste Weise auch automatisiert und selbst voneinander abhängig belegt werden können (Script, Freitext, ext. Datenquellen etc.). Mehrere Provisioning-Vorgänge können völlig flexibel als Produkt/Service zusammengefasst werden. Selbstverständlich kann man verschiedene Hierarchieebenen (CPE, PE oder Access-Layer) entsprechend definieren und berücksichtigen. Somit sind Vorbereitungsarbeiten zentral organisiert, und der Durchführungsprozess kann automatisch abgewickelt werden.

Port-Provisioning

Hinterlegen von Profilen für Ports.
End-User kann provisionieren ohne Syntax-KnowHow

Hier können Device-Ports den zuvor unter Stammdaten erfassten Port-Profil-Templates zugewiesen werden. Dabei kann dies auch für mehrere Ports auf unterschiedlichen Devices geschehen, wobei man immer die entsprechenden Auswahlmasken für Devices und Ports angezeigt bekommt.

Wurden Tokens zu den Templates angelegt, müssen sie nun per Abfrage pro Port mit Werten belegt werden.

Produkte

Bündelung von Jobs

Produkte bündeln einzelne Provisioning-Vorgänge. Ein Produkt kann aus mehreren Steps bestehen. Diese können voneinander abhängig sein. Ein Step wird definiert auf:

  • Bestehendes Device
    Script, Port oder Bulk
  • Neues Device

Beispiel:

  • Step 1 CPE Provisioning
    Initial-Konfiguration über serielle und Ethernet Schnittstelle
    • Firmware
    • Hardware
  • Step 2 Konfiguration eines Backup-Port auf dem PE
    • Port-Provisioning

Vier-Augen-Prinzip

Es gibt vier verschiedene Levels zum Einstellen des Vier-Augen-Prinzips. Falls ein Level >1 eingestellt wird, erhält der User, der den Job freigeben muss, eine Aufforderung per E-Mail. Die Freigabe erfolgt über die ERAMON GUI. Folgende Levels sind verfügbar:

  • Level 1
    ohne VAP
  • Level 2
    Freigabe erfolgt durch anderen User
  • Level 3
    wie Level 2, aber Ausführungsdatum darf nur in bestimmtem Zeitraum sein
  • Level 4
    wie Level 3, aber nur bestimmte Device-Gruppe

Config-/Disaster-Recovery

Wiederherstellen der Config

Das Device wird mit der letzten gesicherten Config provisioniert. Dazu loggt sich ERAMON mittels eingestellter Login-Methode auf das Device ein und provisioniert die ausgewählte Config. Das Recovery ist terminierbar – vorausgesetzt es existiert eine IP-Verbindung zum Device.
Fall das Device nicht mehr über IP erreichbar ist, sondern nur noch über einen Terminal-/Konsolenserver, ist die Wiederherstellung über das Disaster-Recovery möglich.

Firmware Manager

Ausrollen von Firmware

Pro Firmware sind bestimmte Parameter zu erfassen (z. B. RAM- und Flash-Anforderungen). Beim Versuch, die Firmware auszurollen, wird dabei zuerst ein Precheck ausgeführt, welcher die Parameter der Firmware prüft. Nur wenn  dies erfolgreich war, wird anhand eines Provisioning-Templates das Kopieren der Firmware angestoßen.

Firmware-Archiv

IP-SLA Manager

Ausrollen von IP-SLA-Messungen

IP-SLA Manager

Der IP-SLA Manager dient zum komfortablen Verwalten  von IP-SLA-Messungen. Die Messungen werden über das Provisioning-Modul angelegt. Eine Auswertung erfolgt dann bei den Performance-Messungen.

Messungen werden mit Status ‚inaktiv“ angelegt. Sobald der entsprechende SAT die IP-SLA-Daten abfragen konnte, wird der Status auf „aktiv“ gesetzt.

Parameter beim Anlegen einer Messung:

  • Kategorie
  • Device A/B
  • Zeitraum von/bis (je nach Kategorie)
  • ToS
  • Schwellwerte für die angelegte Messung