Performance Management

EPM

Collation and analysis of operational data

Performance Management

ERAMON’s Performance Management Module (EPM) collects data from different from network components or servers, and their interfaces. The data is then being prepared graphically for information and analysis purposes. The aim is to improve performance and status assessments of devices and to display any relevant information relating to these errors and their interfaces clearly. Thus EPM supports tasks such as the planning of WAN-connections or file server capacities by recording traffic flow and storage volume values and reporting any violations of threshold levels predefined in ERAMON’s event system. This enables the reliable recording of short-term capacity patterns and an identification of long-term trends, which in turn allows expansion measures to be carried out in good time. In addition to this, the quality of services rendered may be monitored and documented. EPM provides a considerable extension of the possibilities to display operational data currently available in the market. Scalability to the granularity level required by the user allows better handling as well as more accurate analysis.

Realization

The polling of measurements is based on a ruleset that can be recorded granularly. Based on this ruleset, the relevant device is automatically polled, for example the rule for setting up a measurement for the “CPU Load” for all Cisco Catalyst 4506 switches. The information that is to be polled is collated by the satellites at predefined intervals, usually via SNMP. Many MIBs or example measurements have already been integrated in the NMS, these can be expanded at any time. A dedicated database for backup and archiving of the collected data is available. 

EPM

Depending on the number of active satellites (SATs) installed, ERAMON’s scalable client/server architecture (SAT/CENTER) allows an almost infinite amount of systems data to be accessed. The type of data to be monitored depends on the MIBs of the device manufacturers and spans from ATM Soft-PVCs to switch buffers. Depending on operating system used by the devices, 32-bit- or 64-bit-information can be polled. EPM is configured using templates which can be rolled out accordingly. Certain settings can still be adjusted after the rollout. The requested information is either displayed historically in a graph, or you will see the actual current value. It is also possible to specify threshold values for alerts, as well as minimum/maximum values to improve the clarity of the display. 

The following functions are available when displaying measurements:

  • 95% Rule
    The 95% average is shown
  • Trend Analysis
    The trend analysis applies the exponential smoothing method with a smoothing factor of 0.3 to approximate the curve. The curve is then displayed using linear regression
  • Forecast Value
    The forecast extrapolates the values from the linear regression to the selected time period. The system uses data from the measurements during the displayed time period as the basis for these calculations.
  • Export
    in CSV, pdf or png format
  • Free scaling via the mouseover

 

Reporting
  • Baselining
    Using the EPM Baselining facility, a range of historical values can be applied to define baseline values. Any violations below and/or above the set limits calculated on the baseline values would then generate the necessary alerts. The baseline is the mean average of a certain number of historical values. The polled values are then individually compared to the baseline and you will be alerted of any violations of (upper or lower) limits, these are specified in percent.
  • Dynamic Views
    With the help of a search mask you can view any of the measurements together, such as all QoS statistics of a service class for several devices.
  • IP SLA
    Currently already pre-defined for: cisco, huawei and juniper
  • Top-N Report
    Manually via GUI or automated

Performance Management

EPM

Sammeln/Auswerten von Betriebsdaten

Performance Management

Das Anwendungsmodul ERAMON Performance Management (EPM) sammelt Betriebsdaten von Netzwerkkomponenten oder Servern und deren Interfaces und bereitet sie graphisch zu Informations-und Analysezwecken auf. Ziel ist es, Performance- und Zustandsbewertungen von Devices zu verbessern und bei der Fehlersuche relevante Informationen über Devices und einzelne Interfaces übersichtlich darzustellen. Somit unterstützt EPM beispielsweise bei der Planung von WAN-Anbindungen oder Fileserver-Kapazitäten, indem Leitungsdurchsatz oder Plattenbelegung protokolliert und Überschreitungen voreingestellter Schwellwerte im Event-System von ERAMON angezeigt werden. Dadurch können kurzfristige Kapazitätsmuster sowie langfristige Trends sicher erfasst und rechtzeitige Erweiterungsmaßnahmen getroffen werden. Des Weiteren kann die Qualität der erbrachten Services überwacht und dokumentiert werden. EPM bietet eine erhebliche Erweiterung der bisherigen Möglichkeiten, erfasste Betriebsinformationen darzustellen. Skalierbare und zoombare Grafiken historisch aufbereiteter Daten erlauben eine bessere Handhabung und eine genauere Analyse.

Realisierung

Die Abfrage der Messungen erfolgt anhand eines Regelwerks, welches granular hinterlegt wird. Anhand dieses Regelwerkes wird das entsprechende Device automatisiert abgefragt (z. B. Regel für das Anlegen einer Messung „CPU-Auslastung“ für alle Switche des Typs Cisco Catalyst 4506). Die abzufragenden Informationen werden in definierten Intervallen durch die Satelliten (in der Regel über SNMP) gesammelt. Eine Vielzahl von MIBs bzw. Beispielmessungen ist bereits im NMS integriert, wobei Ergänzungen jederzeit möglich sind. Eine eigene Datenbank steht zur Speicherung und Archivierung der erhobenen Daten zur Verfügung.

EPM

Die skalierbare Architektur (SAT/CENTER) von ERAMON erlaubt, je nach Anzahl der aktiven Satelliten (SATs) eine nahezu unbegrenzte Anzahl von abgefragten Werten. Die Art der Kennzahlen ist abhängig von den MIBs der Device-Hersteller. ATM-Soft-PVCs bis Switch-Buffern sind überwachbar. Je nach der implementierten SNMP-Version im Betriebssystem der Devices können 32-Bit- oder 64-Bit-Kennzahlen  abgefragt werden. EPM wird über Vorlagen konfiguriert, die man entsprechend ausrollt. Bestimmte Einstellungen können nach dem Ausrollen noch geändert werden. Die Darstellung der Informationen erfolgt entweder historisch als Graph oder es wird der letzte aktuelle Wert angezeigt. Das Einstellen von Schwellwerten zur Alarmierung bzw. von Maximal-/Minimalgrenzen zur Verbesserung der Ansicht ist ebenfalls möglich.

Bei der Anzeige von Messungen stehen folgende Funktionen zur Verfügung:

  • 95%-Regel
    Der 95%-Durchschnitt wird angezeigt.
  • Trendanalyse
    Die Trendanalyse verwendet das Verfahren der exponentiellen Glättung mit einem Glättungsfaktor von 0,3, um die Kurve anzunähern. Diese Kurve wird dann durch die lineare Regression abgebildet.
  • Prognosewert
    Die Prognose extrapoliert die Werte aus der linearen Regression auf den ausgewählten Zeitraum. Dabei dienen als Grundlage für die Berechnung der Daten die Messwerte aus dem angezeigten Zeitraum.
  • Export
    CSV, PDF oder PNG
  • Freies Skalieren über Mouseover

Reporting
  • Baselining
    Durch EPM-Baselining können anhand von historischen Werten Baselines definiert werden. Über- und/oder Unterschreitungen werden entsprechend alarmiert. Die Baseline entspricht dem Mittelwert einer bestimmten Anzahl aus historischen Werten. Die abgefragten Werte werden dann entsprechend mit der Baseline verglichen und ab einer bestimmten Abweichung (festlegbar in Prozent) alarmiert.
  • Dynamische Views
    Über eine einstellbare Suchmaske können beliebige Messungen gesammelt betrachtet werden, z. B. alle QoS-Statistiken einer Serviceklasse über mehrere Devices.
  • IP-SLA
    Aktuell für cisco, huawei und juniper bereits vordefiniert.
  • Top-N Report
    Manuell über GUI oder automatisierbar.