Operations

General

Operating a network management system requires a number of functions to support network administrator. This would include SNMP traps or syslog processing, as much as an intelligent event correlation. 

Operations

The central recipients for events are the SATs, which have all the mechanisms for receiving these events; they will then transmit all alerts to the CENTER from where on all events will be processed and prepared for notification. ERAMON distinguishes between the following event types, according to the type or the notifiable process:

  • SNMP Traps
    Traps can be set with a wide range of parameters
  • SNMP Port Status
  • IP Polling
  • Syslog
    Syslog messages are checked against the ruleset and processed accordingly.
  • Program messages
  • Ping Groups
  • EPM
  • ERA Health

Correlation and Collation of Events

Within ERAMON a correlation represents a group of associated events in the event tool. The correlation is identified through various processes and at times analyzed (RCA). The advantages are:

  • Improved clarity through groupings
  • Relationships become easily identifiable
  • Target-oriented announcements
  • Simplified error analysis

Correlation

It is also possible to adjust the correlation individually, allowing customers to decide for themselves which events are to be correlated and which priority each event should be given. Below is an excerpt of existing correlations:

  • Passive
    The passive correlation is applied if an event occurs several times. Where an event is created after its initial occurrence in the event tool, this will not happen for any identical follow-on events; this will only increase the overall count for this event.
  • Normal
    If device/port/event source coincide, the events will be grouped together. The event source can specified in various places, such as in the trap settings or syslog administration.
  • Subinterfaces
    Since logical interface can be laid on top of physical ones, where the logical ones are obviously also affected when the physical one goes down, it would make sense to correlate these events. For this reason, the events of subinterfaces are correlated to the events of the physical interfaces, if they correspond to the event source.
  • L3 Transfer Networks
    If ERAMON recognizes a remote station via a transfer network (/30), the corresponding events are correlated with those of the remote station.
  • Port Channels
    This correlation is an expansion of the transfer network correlation. A port channel consists of two or more physical interfaces and one logical (virtual) channel interface. If an individual physical interface goes down the normal correlation, as shown above, will be carried out. If the second physical interface also goes down, however, and with this the virtual tunnel, then all events are correlated with one another. In this case, the root event would be the channel interface going down. In addition, due to the transfer network correlation, all events of the remote stations, physical and logical interfaces, will also be correlated.
  • OSPF/BGP neighborhoods
    At this point the corresponding port is being identified from the original device event, for example: OSPF Neighbor Down. A down is then generated for this port and the events of the remote station correlated to this.

Announcements

With the help of announcements automatic actions dealing with the notifications for particular events can be set up in ERAMON. In the settings for announcements you can specify when which action is to be carried out due to an event. The setting options can be combined via drag and drop. 

Announcement

Example:
During the night, any major events of the “Backbone” device group must be sent a sms to the specified number (standby) while during the day an e-mail is to be sent.
Optionally, the following actions are available:

  • E-mail Transmission
    Enter address in the following field, several addresses are delimited by a semicolon (;)
  • Bulk E-mail
    Collation of announcements until their transmission as a batch e-mail
  • Script
    Running of a script on the OS
  • Trap
    Transmission of a trap to a different server
  • New Ticket
    Generating a new ticket in the ERAMON ticket system
  • Syslog
    Transmission of a syslog message
  • PAM
    Generating a specific event for the proactive management

Device Backup

Based on the pre-defined login module, the device configuration are periodically backed up. It is also possible to back up the firmware. By linking to the other functions or modules you can obviously also run certain traps controlled by events. This is an excerpt of the various backup methods:

  • FTP
  • TFTP
  • SCP
  • Telnet/SSH
  • SNMP

By default, 90 different configurations are backed up periodically for each device. The config history function allows you to identify when which line has been changed or has been added. The provisioning application module also allows a resetting to any configuration. 

Monitoring Group

Checking for services

By default, the ping is monitored to calculate the availability of a device. For the web server, however, mere ping monitoring is not enough; here it is necessary to also check the function of the web server. A device is assigned to a monitoring group; within this group the device is marked as either reachable or unreachable based on specific criteria. With the help of these monitoring groups a monitoring of the most commonly used services/protocols, such as: pop3, radius, smtp, dns, tacacs, has been integrated.

MPLS

Optional expansion to the Operations module 

A list of all VRFs on the system, including the parameters. Details regarding the VRF via the customer, port and device, as well as routed prefixes, are automatically detected.

VLAN-Manager

Optional expansion to the Operations module

When using VTP the domains, as well as all the devices in the domain, are visible. You can also create groups as a VTP domain alternative and check the integrity of the VLAN names for correctness.

Operations

Allgemein

Der Betrieb eines Netzmanagements erfordert eine Reihe von Funktionen zur Unterstützung der Netz-Administratoren. Hierzu gehören SNMP-Trap-oder Syslog-Verarbeitung genauso wie eine intelligente Event-Korrelation.

Operations

Die zentralen Event-Empfänger sind die ERAMON SATs, welche alle Mechanismen zur Aufnahme der Events beinhalten. Diese übermitteln alle Alarme an den CENTER, von dem aus dann alle Events verarbeitet und zur Anzeige aufbereitet werden. In ERAMON wird zwischen den folgenden Event-Typen (entspricht der Art bzw. dem meldenden Prozess) unterschieden:

  • SNMP-Traps
    Traps durch verschiedenste Parameter variabel einstellbar
  • SNMP-Port-Status
  • IP-Polling
  • Syslog
    Syslog-Meldungen werden anhand des Regelwerkes geprüft und entsprechend verarbeitet
  • Programmmeldungen
  • Ping-Groups
  • EPM
  • ERA-Health

Korrelation/Zusammenfassung von Events

Innerhalb von ERAMON versteht sich unter Korrelation eine Gruppierung von zusammengehörigen Events im Event-Tool. Deren Zusammengehörigkeit wird durch unterschiedliche Verfahren ermittelt und teilweise auch bewertet (Root-Cause-Analyse). Die Vorteile sind:

  • bessere Übersichtlichkeit durch Gruppierung
  • Zusammenhänge sind sofort ersichtlich
  • zielgerichtetes Announcement
  • vereinfachte Fehleranalyse

Korrelation

Des Weiteren lässt sich die Korrelation individuell anpassen. So kann vom Kunden selbst entschieden werden, welche Events miteinander korrelieren und wie hoch die einzelnen Events gewichtet werden sollen. Hier ein Auszug der vorhandenen Korrelationen:

  • Passiv
    Die passive Korrelation wird angewandt, wenn ein Event mehrmals auftritt. Wo beim erstmaligen Auftreten noch ein Event im Event-Tool erzeugt wird, erfolgt dies bei identischen Folge-Events nicht mehr. Hier wird dann die Event-Anzahl hochgezählt.
  • Normal
    Falls Device/Port/Event-Source übereinstimmen, werden die Events entsprechend gruppiert. Die Event-Source kann man an diversen Stellen wie z. B. Trap-/Syslog-Verwaltung einstellen.
  • Sub-Interfaces
    Da auf physikalischen Interfaces auch logische liegen können, welche bei einem Ausfall des physikalischen zwangsläufig mit betroffen sind, macht es Sinn, diese Events zu korrelieren. Deswegen werden die Events von Sub-Interfaces auf die Events des physikalischen Interfaces korreliert (bei Übereinstimmung der Event-Source).
  • L3-Transfernetze
    Sofern ERAMON eine Gegenstelle über ein Transfernetz (/30) erkennt, werden die entsprechenden Events mit denen der Gegenstelle korreliert.
  • Port-Channels
    Diese Korrelation stellt eine Erweiterung der Transfernetz-Korrelation dar. Ein Port-Channel besteht aus zwei oder mehreren physikalischen Interfaces und einem logischen (virtuellen) Channel-Interface. Geht ein einzelnes physikalisches Interface down, erfolgt die  normale Korrelation (siehe oben). Fällt dann aber das zweite physikalische Interface aus (und damit auch der virtuelle Tunnel), so werden alle Events miteinander korreliert. Das Root-Event ist in diesem Fall der Ausfall des Channel-Interfaces. Zusätzlich werden durch die Transfernetz-Korrelation alle Events der Gegenstellen (der physikalischen, aber auch des logischen Interfaces) mit korreliert.
  • OSPF/BGP-Nachbarschaften
    Hier wird aus einem ursprünglichen Geräte-Event (z. B. „OSPF Neighbor Down“) der zugehörige Port ermittelt. Für diesen wird dann ein Ausfall generiert und die Events der Gegenstelle darauf korreliert.

Announcements

Mit Hilfe von Announcements lassen sich automatische Aktionen zur Benachrichtigung für bestimmte Events in ERAMON einrichten. In den Einstellungen für Announcements wird angegeben, wann welche Aktion aufgrund eines Events ausgeführt werden soll. Die Einstellmöglichkeiten sind dabei per Drag&Drop kombinierbar.

Announcement

Beispiel:

Für alle major-Events der Device-Gruppe „Backbone“ ist nachts eine SMS an die Bereitschaft auszuführen und tagsüber eine E-Mail zu generieren.

Als Aktionen stehen dabei folgende Optionen zur Verfügung:

  • E-Mail-Versand
    Adresse im nächsten Feld eintragen, mehrere Empfänger per Semikolon trennen
  • Bulk-E-Mail
    Sammeln der Announcements bis zur Versendung per Batch-Mail
  • Script
    Ausführen eines Scripts auf dem Betriebssystem
  • Trap
    Senden eines Traps an einen anderen Server
  • Neues Ticket
    Erzeugen eines neuen Tickets im ERAMON Ticket-System
  • Syslog
    Versenden einer Syslog-Nachricht
  • PAM
    Erzeugen eines speziellen Events für das Proaktive Management

Device-Backup

Anhand vordefinierter Login-Module erfolgt ein zyklisches Backup der Konfigurationen der Devices. Ebenso kann die Firmware optional gesichert werden. Durch die Verknüpfung mit anderen Funktionen bzw. Modulen ist natürlich auch ein ereignisgesteuertes Ausführen aufgrund z. B. eines bestimmten Traps möglich. Hier ein Auszug aus den verschiedenen Backup-Methoden:

  • FTP
  • TFTP
  • SCP
  • Telnet/SSH
  • SNMP

Die Standard-Konfiguration ist so, dass 90 verschiedene Konfigurationen pro Device rollierend gesichert werden. Über die Funktion Config-History lässt sich dabei feststellen, wann sich welche Zeile geändert hat bzw. hinzugekommen ist. Über das Anwendungsmodul Provisioning ist auch ein Zurückspielen einer beliebigen Konfiguration möglich.

Dienstemonitore

Prüfen auf Services

Als Standard für die Berechnung der Verfügbarkeit des Devices erfolgt eine Ping-Überwachung. Jedoch bei z. B. einem Webserver ist eine reine Ping-Überwachung nicht ausreichend. Hier muss auch die Funktion des Webservers geprüft werden. Ein Device wird einem Dienstemonitor zugeordnet. Innerhalb dieses Monitors wird anhand bestimmter Kriterien das Device als erreichbar bzw. als nicht erreichbar markiert.  Mit Hilfe der Dienstemonitore sind erweiterte Überwachungen der geläufigsten Dienste/Protokolle (z. B.  pop3, radius, smtp, dns, tacacs) integriert.

MPLS

Optionale Erweiterung zum Anwendungsmodul Operations

Auflistung aller im System erfassten VRFs samt Parameter. Detaillierte Angaben zum VRF über Kunde, Port und Devices sowie geroutete Prefixes werden automatisch ermittelt.

VLAN-Manager

Optionale Erweiterung zum Anwendungsmodul Operations

Bei Verwendung von VTP sind die Domains inkl. der Devices ersichtlich, die sich innerhalb der Domäne befinden.  Zusätzlich können Gruppierungen als VTP-Domänen-Alternative erstellt und die Integrität der VLAN-Bezeichnungen auf Richtigkeit überprüft werden.