Config Compliance Check

Basic Principles

Configuration conformity in network devices (independent of manufacturer), as well as the assurance that safety and security guidelines have been complied with, has been gaining in importance when operating corporate-wide networks.

International guidelines such as SOX, ITIL, etc. require verifiable and accountable proof of conformity to corporate guidelines that are not simply based on "good faith“. ERAMON CCC provides network administrators with a tool that enables them to reliably execute these tasks and issues auditable proof to that effect.

In the course of this, CCC analyzes the configurations of devices monitored by ERAMON while applying pre-defined sets of rules. The example below examines a configuration for the presence of the “172.22.10.10” ntp server:

Rulesets

These rulesets are the result of those previously specified and binding corporate guidelines. Within these sets of rules the network administrator can determine which configuration commands are permitted in the configurations, as well as their frequency and/or content. The ruleset is defined by regular expressions, while also allowing the configuration in question to be searched in sections. CCC then monitors the conformity of the current configuration and will send an alert in the event of errors to the responsible member of staff (event, e-mail, etc.).

ERAMON not only covers the technical aspects of this task, such as the transmission of error alerts or configuration violations to ensure their appropriate clearance, but it also supports corporate processes, e.g. service assurance, with appropriate reports and direct integration into workflow systems. Using ERAMON CCC and other supporting modules from the NMS range would therefore provide you with measurable proof of successful changes, for example, within the corporate-wide change management.

CCC-Template

 

Highlights
  • Reports for the technical and commercial sections (revision)
  • Alerts of recognized violations by e-mail, SMS, etc.
  • Prioritization of violations
  • Commencement of check, either manually or scheduled
  • Several rules can be pooled into one job thus requirements from various sectors can be checked in a single step
  • Perl conform Regex’s can be used
  • Automatic grouping of devices which had errors in their configurations
  • Integration into workflow systems is possible
  • Manufacturer-independent – can be used for all manufacturers working with text-based configurations
  • Ease-of-use and comprehensive sets of rules to set up the configuration guidelines that are to be applied

Config Compliance Check

Grundlagen

Config Compliance

 

Die Konformität der Konfigurationen von Netzgeräten (herstellerübergreifend) sowie die Sicherstellung von sauber konfigurierten Sicherheitsrichtlinien im Datennetz sind ein immer wichtigerer Faktor beim Betrieb eines unternehmensweiten Netzwerkes.

Internationale Richtlinien wie SOX, ITIL etc. fordern daher, dass die Einhaltung von firmenweiten Richtlinien nicht nur auf "Treu und Glauben" beruht, sondern auch nachweisbar und messbar wird. ERAMON gibt mit dem Anwendungsmodul Config Compliance Check (CCC) Netzwerkadministratoren ein Werkzeug an die Hand, um diese Aufgaben sicher zu erledigen und ihren Revisionsabteilungen Rede und Antwort stehen zu können.

CCC analysiert hierbei die Konfigurationen der von ERAMON überwachten Devices unter Verwendung von vorbestimmten Regelwerken. Im nachstehenden Beispiel wird eine Konfiguration auf das Vorhandensein des ntp Servers „172.22.10.10“ hin untersucht:

Regelwerke

Diese Regelwerke sind das Ergebnis aus den zuvor definierten verbindlichen Firmenrichtlinien. In diesen Regelwerken kann der Netzwerkadministrator festlegen, welche Konfigurationsbefehle in der Konfiguration vorkommen dürfen, wie oft und in welchem Format bzw. mit welchem Inhalt. Das Regelwerk wird mittels „Regulärer Ausdrücke“ definiert. Dabei kann die zu überprüfende Konfiguration auch absatzweise durchsucht werden. CCC überprüft daraufhin zeitgesteuert die Konformität der aktuellen Konfiguration und alarmiert bei Auftreten eines Fehlers den zuständigen Mitarbeiter (Event, E-Mail etc.).

ERAMON deckt hierbei nicht nur die technische Seite ab - also die Meldung von Fehlern und Differenzen der Konfiguration zur Fehlerbeseitigung -, sondern kann auch die entsprechenden Unternehmensprozesse (z. B. Service-Assurance) durch aussagekräftige Reports unterstützen und direkt in Workflow-Systeme einbinden. So wird z. B. der Nachweis eines erfolgreichen Changes im Rahmen des unternehmensweiten Change-Managements mit CCC und anderen unterstützenden Modulen der NMS zu einer messbaren Größe.

CCC-Template

Highlights
  • Reporting für technischen und kaufmännischen Bereich (Revision)
  • Alarmierung per E-Mail, SMS etc. bei erkanntem Verstoß
  • Gewichtung der Verstöße
  • Start der Prüfung manuell oder zeitgesteuert
  • Zusammenfassung mehrerer Regeln in einem Job – Erfüllung von Anforderungen aus mehreren Bereichen in einem Überprüfungsschritt
  • Verwendung von Perl-konformen Regular Expressions (Regex)
  • Automatisches Gruppieren von Devices mit fehlerhaften Konfigurationen
  • Einbindung in Workflow-Systeme möglich
  • Herstellerneutral - für alle Hersteller mit textbasierender Konfiguration nutzbar
  • Einfache Bedienung und umfangreiches Regelwerk zur Erstellung der zu überprüfenden Konfigurationsrichtlinien